Tuesday, August 23, 2016

Movie Club - August 30, 2016

Hi Movie Clubbers!!

Here are the three movies we are voting on for our August 30 event.  Watch the trailers below and make your decision, then head back over to our facebook event and vote in our poll.

I will announce which movie we all voted for Monday evening.

Thanks!



WAR DOGS



PETE'S DRAGON



SAUSAGE PARTY

Thursday, July 7, 2016

Movie Review: The Legend of Tarzan - A Swing and A Hit

"John Clayton following his parents' death in Africa would be raised by an ape and would be known by the name Tarzan, would leave Africa and go to his parents's home in England along with woman he fell in love with and married, Jane Porter. He would be asked by Belgian King Leopold to go to Africa to see what he has done there to help the country. Initially he refuses. But an American, George Washington Williams wants him to accept so he can accompany him. He says that Leopold might be committing all sorts of atrocities to achieve his goal like slavery. He needs to prove it. Clayton agrees and his wife insists that she accompany him because she misses Africa. They go and when they arrive a man named Rom who works for Leopold attacks the village they are at and captures Tarzan and Jane. With Washington's help he escapes and sets out to rescue Jane by going across the jungle and Washington joins him despite being told that he might not make it." - IMDB



The first story of Tarzan appeared in written form in 1912.  It is quite amazing this legend continues to swing into the lives of each new generation, always with something new to offer.  

On the left is the first 1912 story, on the right is Burroughs 1914 version


This years “The Legend of Tarzan” doesn’t disappoint.
Alexander Skarsgard is perfectly cast, and not only in the eye candy department.  This guy can act.  

Margot Robbie is fantastic as Jane as well.  Samuel L. Jackson’s character was a clever addition to the cast and kept things light with some well written one liners.

But it was Christoph Waltz as the evil Leon Rom who was a bit disappointing. He has been cast as the “bad guy” so often lately, that we had him figured out the minute he walked onto the screen.
The CGI animal work with spectacular – even more so if you are lucky enough to catch this in 3D iMax, which we did.

Fun for the whole family – there is violence, but without all the blood and core.


The Legend of Tarzan is Rated PG-13

Saturday, June 25, 2016

Finding Dory - Just Keeping Swimming Even the World Outside Is A Mess

I didn’t expect anything less than kindness, happiness, and joy in a film voiced by the one and only Ellen DeGeneres.

"Finding Dory" reunites the friendly-but-forgetful blue tang fish, Dory, with her loved ones.  Along this beautiful journey, everyone learns a few things about the true meaning of family.
 
 


A star studded cast including Ty Burrell, Idris Elba, Diane Keaton & Ed O’Neill add laughs as Dory travels the big blue ocean in search of her parents.

If you really want to appreciate how hard voice acting is, check out this clip from Finding Dory:



Just like 2003’s Finding Nemo, the writers accomplish something amazing – they leave out the villains and bad guys and instead focus on the goodness that still exists in this world.  What an amazing thing – to be able to take our families to the movies and remind each other – especially in our current state of affairs – that kindness matters and we should never be afraid to ask our neighbors for help.

For reasons I can’t quite figure out, Finding Dory is rated PG
 
 

 

Thursday, June 16, 2016

Movie Review: Maggie's Plan

Maggie 's plan to have a baby on her own is derailed when she falls in love with John (played by Ethan Hawke), a married man, destroying his volatile marriage to the brilliant and impossible Georgette (played by the always lovely Julianne Moore) But one daughter and three years later, Maggie is out of love and in a quandary: what do you do when you suspect your new husband and his ex wife are actually perfect for each other?





Fans of Greta Gerwig will most definitely enjoy Maggie’s Plan – it is her movie for sure.  But for the rest of us, we are left feeling a bit disappointed.  I found myself waiting patiently for the BIG MOMENT of the movie..and when it finally comes, it is the final thirty seconds of the film.  I would have much rather seen the next 15 minutes of that storyline unfold.

The shining performance for me wasn’t the big names mentioned above, but actually the character of Guy played to perfection by Travis Fimmel.  I only wish his storyline was a bigger part of the film.






Maggie's Plan is now playing in select theaters ( you can catch in Kansas City) and is rated R.

Monday, June 13, 2016

Movie Review: Me Before You

Fans of romance author JoJo Moyes, will be delighted she wrote the screenplay for her best seller, Me Before you.


For those of you who didn’t read the book, the story is of young and quirky Louisa Clark (played by Game of Thrones Queen Emilia Clarke) who moves from one job to the next to help her family make ends meet. Her cheerful attitude is put to the test when she becomes a caregiver for Will Traynor (Sam Claflin), a wealthy young banker left paralyzed from an accident two years earlier. Will's cynical outlook starts to change when Louisa shows him that life is worth living. As their bond deepens, their lives and hearts change in ways neither one could have imagined.





Be sure and bring your tissues – this is a real tearjerker – and pretty funny at times.  It touches on several issues that go far deeper than your normal “chick flick”, and the film gets a bit uncomfortable at times, but overall it’s a nice romantic movie perfect for an evening out with the girls.



Me Before You is Rated PG 13

Thursday, June 2, 2016

TMNT - Please go back to the shadows!

Michelangelo, Donatello, Leonardo, and Raphael return to theaters this summer to battle bigger, badder villains in Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Out of the Shadows.





These unlikely superheroes bicker, eat pizza, wear bandanas, all while living in the New York City sewer system.   For some reason (still unbeknownst to me), the turtles occasionally save the world from destruction. 

Actors jumping into the sewer for this one include Megan Fox, Will Arnett and even Tyler Perry.  (Hard to believe he is in this movie and it wasn’t retitled “Tyler Perry helps Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles…you know where I am going here. ) I also have to wonder what possessed three time Oscar nominee Laura Linney to jump on the turte train..…

It’s noisy and chaotic, and I am sure the young ones will like this one, but for this critic, these turtles just need to go back into the shadows.


Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Out of the Shadows is rated PG-13


Saturday, May 21, 2016

Movie Review: Mothers Day - Not that Great of a Gift


As much as I wanted to love Mothers Day, it just didn't work.  They tried too hard for the laughs, and I was sadly disappointed.  Watch my full review here. 
 
 

Mothers Day is Rated Pg-13