Wednesday, April 19, 2017

13 Reasons Why - A Netflix series all the adults SHOULD watch, because all the kids ARE watching.




It’s been awhile since I felt the kind of emotion I felt after watching the last episode of “13 Reasons Why”, a Netflix original series.  And I have to tell you, I am reeling. “13 Reasons Why” follows teenage Clay Jensen in his quest to uncover the truth behind his classmate, Hannah Baker, and her decision to end her life 






 

This series was released nearly three weeks ago, and teens everywhere are talking about.  I only heard about it through a facebook group I belong to where we share films, movies and podcasts.  If it weren’t for that group, I would not have heard about it. 

Some critics say the series glorifies suicide; I am not sure I agree with that.  One thing it DOES shine a light on is the inability of teenagers to make adult decisions.   I, myself, was a teenager who experimented in very risky behavior.  And I could relate to quite a few things that went on in Hannah’s “Liberty High School”.  As the series points out, it’s not just the “druggies” or the “goth kids” that make bad decisions.  It’s everyone.  At least once. 

It is my genuine hope that teenagers who  watch this series walk away with a little more kindness in their hearts.  A little more empathy.  And that parents and teachers will be more aware of what is happening all around them.  Suicide is the second leading cause of death among teenagers.  Let that sit with you for a bit.
I have  reached out to friends and family who are parents, guidance counselors and teachers and most of them respond like this “I have heard the kids talking about it, but I haven’t watched it.”

Adults who have children or interact with children in any way MUST watch it now.  Parents must be having conversations with their children about this series.  It is that powerful.
NOTE:  This is an extremely graphic series and should only be viewed by a mature audience.

 

 

Friday, December 30, 2016

The Take2Review Top Ten Movies of the Year

Everyone always asks me – what is the best movie this year?  Well this year, the answer is La La Land.  Stellar cast – beautiful cinematography and the film brings us something new and different. But being the best doesn't always make you my favorite. 


Without further ado – the Take2Revew Top Ten Movies of 2016:


Honorable Mention -   Everybody Wants Some




Richard Linklater always delivers - and this time he took me on a trip in time to the early 80s.  The soundtrack, the cars, the clothes, THE HAIR!  Everything was styled to perfection. Everybody Wants Some is quite nostalgic, pretty hilarious – and deserves my honorable mention.



 10.  American Honey





One of the best metrics on which I judge movies is simple.  Did it stick with me?  Did I think of it over the next few days?  With American Honey the answer was a resounding yes.  Maybe it was the backdrop of Kansas City in some of the shots, maybe it was my complete love for the characters brought to life in the film, or maybe it is the wanderlust who lives deep inside my soul.  All I can say is I loved this weird little film and could watch it over and over again.



9.  Lion



I have always been a Dev Patel fan, which explains why I stuck with Lion even though it was VERY slow to start.  Most moviegoers may be turned off by the subtitles in the beginning of Lion, but I promise you the movie is totally worth it.  It is a beautiful movie with fantastic acting.  You won't be disappointed. (side note - Dev held the door for me at the Critics Choice Awards and he looks and smells DIVINE)


8.  La La Land


 
The feel good movie of the year, La La Land is one musical I could get behind.  It is breathtakingly beautiful and showcases Los Angeles at it's very best.  I really, really enjoyed this one.



7.  Audrie & Daisy



Audrie & Daisy is the only documentary that made my Top Ten list this year.  This movie will infuriate you.  And I hope it inspires you.  Everyone should watch it and everyone should be talking about it.  We must keep these terrible things from happening with our youth. 


6.  Nocturnal Animals



Another film that haunted me for weeks after the screening was Nocturnal Animals.  It also stars Amy Adams, the only actress to find her way into my Top Ten in two different movies.  This film was a big surprise to me. The trailer doesn't really give away the movie, and that's a very good thing.  It is a dark story, but I loved it. 



5. Manchester By The Sea



Manchester By The Sea is a gutwrenching film with the best acting of this awards season.  Casey Affleck, Michelle Williams, Lucas Hedges all deserve serious consideration and, in my opinion, wins.  These characters show us people at their worst, and at their very best.  At times it was hard to tell the difference.  Brutal film.  But worth the pain. 



4.  Captain Fantastic



Captain Fantastic is one of those films that makes you question everything about the way you live your life.  It's about family, unconditional love, mental illness and so much more.  Viggo Mortensen was absolutely amazing in this film.  The actors who portrayed his children;  I am sure we will be seeing much more of for years to come.  I Highly HIGHLY recommend. 


3.  Arrival


No one is more surprised by a science fiction movie landing as my second favorite film than I am, but Arrival blew my mind.  I was completely shocked by the twist in the movie; I didn't see it coming at all.  I cried and cried.  Amy Adams gives the performance of a lifetime.  Brilliant,  beautiful, this movie is everything. 




2.  Hidden Figures




Hidden Figures is the movie we all needed in 2016.  A reminder of how far we have come, and how far we still have to go.  Uplifting, beautifully acted and historical - Hidden Figures was a quiet surprise that snuck up on me at the last minute.  I would love to see Hidden Figures win Best Picture.



1.  Hello My Name is Doris



My favorite movie of 2016 was an easy one for me, and also includes the best movie line of the year:   "It's not IMPOSSIBLE, it's I'M POSSIBLE!"  Hello, My Name is Doris is so charming and lovely I have shared it with all my friends and family and I have watched it multiple times this year.  Sally Field is at the top of her game in this one.  I can't say enough wonderful things.  I absolutely adored it.


2017 Critics Choice Awards

Jay and I traveled to Santa Monica earlier this month for the 2017 Critics Choice Awards.  We clean up pretty nice, don't you think?\\






We had a wonderful evening, but I couldn't take my eyes off of Jay long enough to take any pics with the actors and actresses who were in the house. 


Here are the winners from the awards show held at Barker Hangar.

BEST PICTURE
Arrival
Fences
Hacksaw Ridge
Hell or High Water
La La Land *WINNER* Lion
Loving
Manchester by the Sea
Moonlight
Sully
                                      
BEST ACTOR
Casey Affleck – Manchester by the Sea *WINNER* Joel Edgerton – Loving
Andrew Garfield – Hacksaw Ridge
Ryan Gosling – La La Land
Tom Hanks – Sully
Denzel Washington – Fences
                                      
BEST ACTRESS
Amy Adams – Arrival
Annette Bening – 20th Century Women
Isabelle Huppert – Elle
Ruth Negga – Loving
Natalie Portman – Jackie *WINNER* Emma Stone – La La Land
                                       
BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR
Mahershala Ali – Moonlight *WINNER* Jeff Bridges – Hell or High Water
Ben Foster – Hell or High Water
Lucas Hedges – Manchester by the Sea
Dev Patel – Lion
Michael Shannon – Nocturnal Animals

BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS
Viola Davis – Fences *WINNER*
Greta Gerwig – 20th Century Women
Naomie Harris – Moonlight
Nicole Kidman – Lion
Janelle Monáe – Hidden Figures
Michelle Williams – Manchester by the Sea
B
EST YOUNG ACTOR/ACTRESS
Lucas Hedges – Manchester by the Sea *WINNER* Alex R. Hibbert – Moonlight
Lewis MacDougall – A Monster Calls
Madina Nalwanga – Queen of Katwe
Sunny Pawar — Lion
Hailee Steinfeld – The Edge of Seventeen

BEST ACTING ENSEMBLE
20th Century Women
Fences
Hell or High Water
Hidden Figures
Manchester by the Sea
Moonlight *WINNER*
                                       
BEST DIRECTOR
Damien Chazelle – La La Land *WINNER* Mel Gibson – Hacksaw Ridge
Barry Jenkins – Moonlight
Kenneth Lonergan – Manchester by the Sea
David Mackenzie – Hell or High Water
Denis Villeneuve – Arrival
Denzel Washington – Fences
                                      
BEST ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY
Damien Chazelle – La La Land *WINNER* Barry Jenkins — Moonlight
Yorgos Lanthimos/Efthimis Filippou – The Lobster
Kenneth Lonergan – Manchester by the Sea *WINNER* Jeff Nichols – Loving
Taylor Sheridan – Hell or High Water
                                      
BEST ADAPTED SCREENPLAY
Luke Davies – Lion
Tom Ford – Nocturnal Animals
Eric Heisserer – Arrival *WINNER* Todd Komarnicki – Sully
Allison Schroeder/Theodore Melfi – Hidden Figures
August Wilson – Fences
                                      
BEST CINEMATOGRAPHY
Stéphane Fontaine – Jackie
James Laxton – Moonlight
Seamus McGarvey – Nocturnal Animals
Linus Sandgren – La La Land *WINNER* Bradford Young – Arrival
                                      
BEST PRODUCTION DESIGN
Arrival – Patrice Vermette, Paul Hotte/André Valade
Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them – Stuart Craig/James Hambridge, Anna Pinnock
Jackie – Jean Rabasse, Véronique Melery
La La Land – David Wasco, Sandy Reynolds-Wasco *WINNER* Live by Night – Jess Gonchor, Nancy Haigh
                                      
BEST EDITING
Tom Cross – La La Land *WINNER*
John Gilbert – Hacksaw Ridge
Blu Murray – Sully
Nat Sanders/Joi McMillon — Moonlight
Joe Walker – Arrival
                                       
BEST COSTUME DESIGN
Colleen Atwood – Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them
Consolata Boyle – Florence Foster Jenkins
Madeline Fontaine – Jackie *WINNER* Joanna Johnston – Allied
Eimer Ni Mhaoldomhnaigh – Love & Friendship
Mary Zophres – La La Land
                                      
BEST HAIR & MAKEUP
Doctor Strange
Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them
Hacksaw Ridge
Jackie *WINNER*
Star Trek Beyond
                                      
BEST VISUAL EFFECTS
A Monster Calls
Arrival
Doctor Strange
Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them
The Jungle Book *WINNER*
                                      
BEST ANIMATED FEATURE
Finding Dory
Kubo and the Two Strings
Moana
The Red Turtle
Trolls
Zootopia *WINNER*

BEST ACTION MOVIE
Captain America: Civil War
Deadpool
Doctor Strange
Hacksaw Ridge *WINNER*
Jason Bourne
                                      
BEST ACTOR IN AN ACTION MOVIE
Benedict Cumberbatch – Doctor Strange
Matt Damon – Jason Bourne
Chris Evans – Captain America: Civil War
Andrew Garfield – Hacksaw Ridge *WINNER* Ryan Reynolds – Deadpool
                                      
BEST ACTRESS IN AN ACTION MOVIE Gal Gadot – Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice
Scarlett Johansson – Captain America: Civil War
Margot Robbie – Suicide Squad *WINNER* Tilda Swinton – Doctor Strange
                                       
BEST COMEDY Central Intelligence
Deadpool *WINNER*
Don’t Think Twice
The Edge of Seventeen
Hail, Caesar!
The Nice Guys
                                      
BEST ACTOR IN A COMEDY
Ryan Gosling – The Nice Guys
Hugh Grant – Florence Foster Jenkins
Dwayne Johnson – Central Intelligence
Viggo Mortensen – Captain Fantastic
Ryan Reynolds – Deadpool *WINNER*
                                      
BEST ACTRESS IN A COMEDY
Kate Beckinsale – Love & Friendship
Sally Field – Hello, My Name Is Doris
Kate McKinnon – Ghostbusters
Hailee Steinfeld – The Edge of Seventeen
Meryl Streep – Florence Foster Jenkins *WINNER*
                                      
BEST SCI-FI/HORROR MOVIE 10 Cloverfield Lane
Arrival *WINNER*
Doctor Strange
Don’t Breathe
Star Trek Beyond
The Witch
                                      
BEST FOREIGN LANGUAGE FILM
Elle *WINNER*
The Handmaiden
Julieta
Neruda
The Salesman
Toni Erdmann
                                      
BEST SONG
“Audition (The Fools Who Dream)” – La La Land
“Can’t Stop the Feeling” – Trolls
“City of Stars” – La La Land *WINNER*
“Drive It Like You Stole It” – Sing Street
“How Far I’ll Go” — Moana
“The Rules Don’t Apply” – Rules Don’t Apply
                                      
BEST SCORE
Nicholas Britell – Moonlight
Jóhann Jóhannsson – Arrival
Justin Hurwitz – La La Land  *WINNER* Micachu – Jackie
Dustin O’Halloran, Hauschka – Lion

Sunday, December 11, 2016

2016 Critics Choice Ballot

Movie Awards

BEST PICTURE
Arrival
Fences
Hacksaw Ridge
Hell or High Water
La La Land
Lion
Loving
Manchester by the Sea
Moonlight
Sully


BEST ACTOR
Casey Affleck – Manchester by the Sea
Joel Edgerton – Loving
Andrew Garfield – Hacksaw Ridge
Ryan Gosling – La La Land
Tom Hanks – Sully
Denzel Washington – Fences


BEST ACTRESS
Amy Adams – Arrival
Annette Bening – 20th Century Women
Isabelle Huppert – Elle
Ruth Negga – Loving
Natalie Portman – Jackie
Emma Stone – La La Land


BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR
Mahershala Ali – Moonlight
Jeff Bridges – Hell or High Water
Ben Foster – Hell or High Water
Lucas Hedges – Manchester by the Sea
Dev Patel – Lion
Michael Shannon – Nocturnal Animals


BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS
Viola Davis – Fences
Greta Gerwig – 20th Century Women
Naomie Harris – Moonlight
Nicole Kidman – Lion
Janelle Monáe – Hidden Figures
Michelle Williams – Manchester by the Sea


BEST YOUNG ACTOR/ACTRESS
Lucas Hedges – Manchester by the Sea
Alex R. Hibbert – Moonlight
Lewis MacDougall – A Monster Calls
Madina Nalwanga – Queen of Katwe
Sunny Pawar — Lion
Hailee Steinfeld – The Edge of Seventeen


BEST ACTING ENSEMBLE
20th Century Women
Fences
Hell or High Water
Hidden Figures
Manchester by the Sea
Moonlight


BEST DIRECTOR
Damien Chazelle – La La  Land
Mel Gibson – Hacksaw Ridge
Barry Jenkins – Moonlight
Kenneth Lonergan – Manchester by the Sea
David Mackenzie – Hell or High Water
Denis Villeneuve – Arrival
Denzel Washington – Fences


BEST ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY
Damien Chazelle – La La Land
Barry Jenkins — Moonlight
Yorgos Lanthimos/Efthimis Filippou – The Lobster
Kenneth Lonergan – Manchester by the Sea
Jeff Nichols – Loving
Taylor Sheridan – Hell or High Water


BEST ADAPTED SCREENPLAY
Luke Davies – Lion
Tom Ford – Nocturnal Animals
Eric Heisserer – Arrival
Todd Komarnicki – Sully
Allison Schroeder/Theodore Melfi – Hidden Figures
August Wilson – Fences


BEST CINEMATOGRAPHY
Stéphane Fontaine – Jackie
James Laxton – Moonlight
Seamus McGarvey – Nocturnal Animals
Linus Sandgren – La La Land
Bradford Young – Arrival


BEST PRODUCTION DESIGN
Arrival – Patrice Vermette, Paul Hotte/André Valade
Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them – Stuart Craig/James Hambridge, Anna Pinnock
Jackie – Jean Rabasse, Véronique Melery
La La Land – David Wasco, Sandy Reynolds-Wasco
Live by Night – Jess Gonchor, Nancy Haigh


BEST EDITING
Tom Cross – La La Land
John Gilbert – Hacksaw Ridge
Blu Murray – Sully
Nat Sanders/Joi McMillon — Moonlight
Joe Walker – Arrival


BEST COSTUME DESIGN
Colleen Atwood – Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them
Consolata Boyle – Florence Foster Jenkins
Madeline Fontaine – Jackie
Joanna Johnston – Allied
Eimer Ni Mhaoldomhnaigh – Love & Friendship
Mary Zophres – La La Land


BEST HAIR & MAKEUP
Doctor Strange
Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them
Hacksaw Ridge
Jackie
Star Trek Beyond


BEST VISUAL EFFECTS
A Monster Calls
Arrival
Doctor Strange
Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them
The Jungle Book


BEST ANIMATED FEATURE
Finding Dory
Kubo and the Two Strings
Moana
The Red Turtle
Trolls
Zootopia


BEST ACTION MOVIE
Captain America: Civil War
Deadpool
Doctor Strange
Hacksaw Ridge
Jason Bourne


BEST ACTOR IN AN ACTION MOVIE
Benedict Cumberbatch – Doctor Strange
Matt Damon – Jason Bourne
Chris Evans – Captain America: Civil War
Andrew Garfield – Hacksaw Ridge
Ryan Reynolds – Deadpool


BEST ACTRESS IN AN ACTION MOVIE
Gal Gadot – Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice
Scarlett Johansson – Captain America: Civil War
Margot Robbie – Suicide Squad
Tilda Swinton – Doctor Strange


BEST COMEDY
Central Intelligence
Deadpool
Don’t Think Twice
The Edge of Seventeen
Hail, Caesar!
The Nice Guys


BEST ACTOR IN A COMEDY
Ryan Gosling – The Nice Guys
Hugh Grant – Florence Foster Jenkins
Dwayne Johnson – Central Intelligence
Viggo Mortensen – Captain Fantastic
Ryan Reynolds – Deadpool


BEST ACTRESS IN A COMEDY
Kate Beckinsale – Love & Friendship
Sally Field – Hello, My Name Is Doris
Kate McKinnon – Ghostbusters
Hailee Steinfeld – The Edge of Seventeen
Meryl Streep – Florence Foster Jenkins


BEST SCI-FI/HORROR MOVIE
10 Cloverfield Lane
Arrival
Doctor Strange
Don’t Breathe
Star Trek Beyond
The Witch


BEST FOREIGN LANGUAGE FILM
Elle
The Handmaiden
Julieta
Neruda
The Salesman
Toni Erdmann


BEST SONG
“Audition (The Fools Who Dream)” – La La Land
“Can’t Stop the Feeling” – Trolls
“City of Stars” – La La Land
“Drive It Like You Stole It” – Sing Street
“How Far I’ll Go” — Moana
“The Rules Don’t Apply” – Rules Don’t Apply


BEST SCORE
Nicholas Britell – Moonlight
Jóhann Jóhannsson – Arrival
Justin Hurwitz – La La Land
Micachu – Jackie
Dustin O’Halloran, Hauschka – Lion


TV Nominees


BEST DRAMA SERIES
Better Call Saul – AMC
Game of Thrones – HBO
Mr. Robot – USA Network
Stranger Things – Netflix
The Crown – Netflix
This Is Us – NBC
Westworld – HBO


BEST ACTOR IN A DRAMA SERIES
Sam Heughan – Outlander – Starz
Rami Malek – Mr. Robot – USA Network
Bob Odenkirk – Better Call Saul – AMC
Matthew Rhys – The Americans – FX
Liev Schreiber – Ray Donovan – Showtime
Kevin Spacey – House of Cards – Netflix


BEST ACTRESS IN A DRAMA SERIES
Caitriona Balfe – Outlander – Starz
Viola Davis – How to Get Away with Murder – ABC
Tatiana Maslany – Orphan Black – BBC America
Keri Russell – The Americans – FX
Evan Rachel Wood – Westworld – HBO
Robin Wright – House of Cards – Netflix


BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR IN A DRAMA SERIES
Peter Dinklage – Game of Thrones – HBO
Kit Harington – Game of Thrones – HBO
John Lithgow – The Crown – Netflix
Mandy Patinkin – Homeland – Showtime
Christian Slater – Mr. Robot – USA Network
Jon Voight – Ray Donovan – Showtime


BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS IN A DRAMA SERIES
Christine Baranski – The Good Wife – CBS
Emilia Clarke – Game of Thrones – HBO
Lena Headey – Game of Thrones – HBO
Thandie Newton – Westworld – HBO
Maura Tierney – The Affair – Showtime
Constance Zimmer – UnREAL – Lifetime


BEST GUEST PERFORMER IN A DRAMA SERIES
Mahershala Ali – House of Cards – Netflix
Lisa Bonet – Ray Donovan – Showtime
Ellen Burstyn – House of Cards – Netflix
Michael J. Fox – The Good Wife – CBS
Jared Harris – The Crown – Netflix
Jeffrey Dean Morgan – The Walking Dead – AMC


BEST COMEDY SERIES
Atlanta – FX
Black-ish – ABC
Fleabag – Amazon
Modern Family – ABC
Silicon Valley – HBO
Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt – Netflix
Veep – HBO


BEST ACTRESS IN A COMEDY SERIES
Ellie Kemper – Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt – Netflix
Julia Louis-Dreyfus – Veep – HBO
Kate McKinnon – Saturday Night Live – NBC
Tracee Ellis Ross – Black-ish – ABC
Phoebe Waller-Bridge – Fleabag – Amazon
Constance Wu – Fresh Off the Boat – ABC


BEST ACTOR IN A COMEDY SERIES
Anthony Anderson – Black-ish – ABC
Will Forte – The Last Man on Earth – FOX
Donald Glover – Atlanta – FX
Bill Hader – Documentary Now! – IFC
Patrick Stewart – Blunt Talk – Starz
Jeffrey Tambor – Transparent – Amazon


BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS IN A COMEDY SERIES
Julie Bowen – Modern Family – ABC
Anna Chlumsky – Veep – HBO
Allison Janney – Mom – CBS
Jane Krakowski – Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt – Netflix
Judith Light – Transparent – Amazon
Allison Williams – Girls – HBO


BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR IN A COMEDY SERIES
Louie Anderson – Baskets – FX
Andre Braugher – Brooklyn Nine-Nine – FOX
Tituss Burgess – Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt – Netflix
Ty Burrell – Modern Family – ABC
Tony Hale – Veep – HBO
T.J. Miller – Silicon Valley – HBO


BEST GUEST PERFORMER IN A COMEDY SERIES
Alec Baldwin – Saturday Night Live – NBC
Christine Baranski – The Big Bang Theory – CBS
Larry David – Saturday Night Live – NBC
Lisa Kudrow – Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt – Netflix
Liam Neeson – Inside Amy Schumer – Comedy Central


BEST ANIMATED SERIES
Archer – FX
Bob’s Burgers – FOX
BoJack Horseman – Netflix
Son of Zorn – FOX
South Park – Comedy Central
The Simpsons – FOX


BEST REALITY COMPETITION SERIES
America’s Got Talent – NBC
MasterChef Junior – FOX
RuPaul’s Drag Race – Logo
Skin Wars – GSN
The Amazing Race – CBS
The Voice – NBC


BEST STRUCTURED REALITY SERIES
Chopped – Food Network
Inside The Actors Studio – Bravo
Penn & Teller: Fool Us – The CW
Project Runway – Lifetime
Shark Tank – ABC
Undercover Boss – CBS


BEST UNSTRUCTURED REALITY SERIES
Anthony Bourdain: Parts Unknown – CNN
Chrisley Knows Best – USA Network
Deadliest Catch – Discovery
Ice Road Truckers – History
Intervention – A&E
Naked and Afraid – Discovery


BEST TALK SHOW
Full Frontal with Samantha Bee – TBS
Jimmy Kimmel Live! – ABC
Last Week Tonight with John Oliver – HBO
The Daily Show with Trevor Noah – Comedy Central
The Late Late Show with James Corden – CBS
The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon – NBC


BEST REALITY SHOW HOST
Ted Allen – Chopped – Food Network
Tom Bergeron – Dancing with the Stars – ABC
Anthony Bourdain – Anthony Bourdain: Parts Unknown – CNN
Nick Cannon – America’s Got Talent – NBC
Carson Daly – The Voice – NBC
RuPaul – RuPaul’s Drag Race – Logo


BEST MOVIE MADE FOR TELEVISION OR LIMITED SERIES
All the Way – HBO
Confirmation – HBO
Killing Reagan – National Geographic
Roots – History
The Night Manager – AMC
The People v. O.J. Simpson – FX


BEST ACTOR IN A MOVIE MADE FOR TELEVISION OR LIMITED SERIES
Bryan Cranston – All the Way – HBO
Benedict Cumberbatch – Sherlock: The Abominable Bride – PBS
Cuba Gooding Jr. – The People v. O.J. Simpson – FX
Tom Hiddleston – The Night Manager – AMC
Tim Matheson – Killing Reagan – National Geographic
Courtney B. Vance – The People v. O.J. Simpson – FX


BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR IN A MOVIE MADE FOR TELEVISION OR LIMITED SERIES
Sterling K. Brown – The People v. O.J. Simpson – FX
Lane Garrison – Roots – History
Frank Langella – All the Way – HBO
Hugh Laurie – The Night Manager – AMC
John Travolta – The People v. O.J. Simpson – FX
Forest Whitaker – Roots – History


BEST ACTRESS IN A MOVIE MADE FOR TELEVISION OR LIMITED SERIES
Olivia Colman – The Night Manager – AMC
Felicity Huffman – American Crime – ABC
Cynthia Nixon – Killing Reagan – National Geographic
Sarah Paulson – The People v. O.J. Simpson – FX
Lili Taylor – American Crime – ABC
Kerry Washington – Confirmation – HBO


BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS IN A MOVIE MADE FOR TELEVISION OR LIMITED SERIES
Elizabeth Debicki – The Night Manager – AMC
Regina King – American Crime – ABC
Sarah Lancashire – The Dresser – Starz
Melissa Leo – All the Way – HBO
Anna Paquin – Roots – History
Emily Watson – The Dresser – Starz

Saturday, August 27, 2016

Hello My Name Is Doris, Audrie&Daisy, Outlaw Film Festival & August Movie Club

I found my favorite movie of 2016 so far, and her name is Doris.  Click on this link for my review.
 

#HelloMyNameIsDoris is available on DVD and streaming and is HILARIOUS.  You do not want to miss it!

I also want to plug #OutlawFilmFest2016 which is right around the corner.  This 4 day festival kicks off 11/2/16 in downtown St. Joseph.  On 11/4/16 the festival will hold a screening of the #Netflix documentary #Audrie&Daisy with proceeds being donated to the St. Joseph YWCA.  Daisy Coleman and her family will be in attendance for panel discussions. 

 

For more information about our film festival, follow @outlawfilmfest on facebook & twitter, and check out all the events at www.outlawfilmfest.com

I also want to invite local movie lovers to our August Movie Club - August 30 - we are meeting at Chili's in St. Joe at 6pm and then heading over to Hollywood Regal 10 to catch War Dogs & Pete's Dragon.  You can get all the details @take2review on facebook.

Happy Weekend everyone!!

Tuesday, August 23, 2016

Movie Club - August 30, 2016

Hi Movie Clubbers!!

Here are the three movies we are voting on for our August 30 event.  Watch the trailers below and make your decision, then head back over to our facebook event and vote in our poll.

I will announce which movie we all voted for Monday evening.

Thanks!



WAR DOGS



PETE'S DRAGON



SAUSAGE PARTY

Thursday, July 7, 2016

Movie Review: The Legend of Tarzan - A Swing and A Hit

"John Clayton following his parents' death in Africa would be raised by an ape and would be known by the name Tarzan, would leave Africa and go to his parents's home in England along with woman he fell in love with and married, Jane Porter. He would be asked by Belgian King Leopold to go to Africa to see what he has done there to help the country. Initially he refuses. But an American, George Washington Williams wants him to accept so he can accompany him. He says that Leopold might be committing all sorts of atrocities to achieve his goal like slavery. He needs to prove it. Clayton agrees and his wife insists that she accompany him because she misses Africa. They go and when they arrive a man named Rom who works for Leopold attacks the village they are at and captures Tarzan and Jane. With Washington's help he escapes and sets out to rescue Jane by going across the jungle and Washington joins him despite being told that he might not make it." - IMDB



The first story of Tarzan appeared in written form in 1912.  It is quite amazing this legend continues to swing into the lives of each new generation, always with something new to offer.  

On the left is the first 1912 story, on the right is Burroughs 1914 version


This years “The Legend of Tarzan” doesn’t disappoint.
Alexander Skarsgard is perfectly cast, and not only in the eye candy department.  This guy can act.  

Margot Robbie is fantastic as Jane as well.  Samuel L. Jackson’s character was a clever addition to the cast and kept things light with some well written one liners.

But it was Christoph Waltz as the evil Leon Rom who was a bit disappointing. He has been cast as the “bad guy” so often lately, that we had him figured out the minute he walked onto the screen.
The CGI animal work with spectacular – even more so if you are lucky enough to catch this in 3D iMax, which we did.

Fun for the whole family – there is violence, but without all the blood and core.


The Legend of Tarzan is Rated PG-13